C/C++ Help

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 

User Name:
Password:
Remember me

Go Back   Dev Articles Community ForumsProgrammingC/C++ Help

Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 

Unread Dev Articles Community Forums Sponsor:
Old October 27th, 2009, 06:15 PM
Dev Articles Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Posts: 3 gpstanek User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 55 m 46 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Unhappy General - "Segmentation Fault" in C++

Hello,

I am new to c++ but have worked with java some. I have been assigned to complete a program by writing 3 functions: A "copy constructor" function for a queue, an enqueue function, and a dequeue function. I am writing, compiling, and running my code on a UNIX machine. I have code that compiles, but when I run it i get a "Segmentation Fault". I do not know what part of my code produced this fault, so I am hoping that one of you may. The code that I wrote is as follows (this is the code that should have the error):

// copy constructor for Queue
Queue::Queue (const Queue & Old_queue)
{

Queue * q2 = new Queue();
Node * n2 = new Node();
q2 -> tail = Old_queue.tail; //set tail of new queue equal to tail of old queue
//set head of new queue equal to tail,seeing how nothing is in new queue yet
q2 -> head = q2 -> tail;
n2 = q2 -> tail; //set new node equal to tail
while(Old_queue.head != q2 -> head -> next){ //copies Old_queue values //to n2 queue
enqueue(n2 -> proc);
n2 -> next;
q2 -> head -> next;
}
}

// enqueue
// Add the given Process object pointed to by procptr to the
// tail of the queue.
void
Queue::enqueue (Process * procptr){
Node * q3 = new Node();
q3 -> proc = procptr;
q3 -> prev = head; //place this new node at end of queue
q3 -> next = NULL;
tail = tail -> next; //move tail pointer to current end of queue
}

// Dequeues the head of the queue, and returns a pointer to