Java Development

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 

User Name:
Password:
Remember me

Go Back   Dev Articles Community ForumsProgrammingJava Development

Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 

Unread Dev Articles Community Forums Sponsor:
Old January 22nd, 2005, 11:46 PM
Dev Articles Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Posts: 7 miss_mushroom User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 2 h 38 m 27 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Cool Convert from binary to decimal?

Hi all.... I am new in Java Programming and need your help for the following :

Convert binary numbers to decimal.
The program should prompt user to enter the number. Upon clicking the button, the program should display the number, the positional wightage of each digit of the number ( I have done some researched n found that i have to use pow method for this....is this correct??? ) .........and the decimal equivalent of the number.

Please help. I really appreciate it.

Thanks.

Old January 24th, 2005, 11:16 PM

Posts: 4 Programmer1199 User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 33 m 17 sec
EXAMPLE:

(11010.01) to Decimal -

take each number invdividually and multiply it by 2 to the power of the placement of the number - 1. (5 places to the left of the decimal would be 1 * 2/\4)

so you start with the number far left and move right like this :

(1 * 2/\4) + (1 * 2/\3) + (0 * 2/\2) + (1 * 2/\1) + (0 * 2/\0) + (0 * 2/\-1) + (1 * 2/\-2) = 26.25

so thats how you would go from binary to decimal...so you will need to write a program that will use that basic formula.

hope that makes some sense...

Old January 25th, 2005, 09:48 AM
I'm Internet Famous
Dev Articles Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)